is constant icing harmful?

Here we can discuss difficulties with comfort in sitting and normal living - cushions, bicycle seats, car seats, work stations etc.
April

is constant icing harmful?

Post by April »

Hi all:

I am new to this wonderful forum. I have PNE in my perineal branch. My burning started in February and was diagnosed about a month ago (by my physical therapist with some help from me after reading this website). In a week I have an appointment with one of the doctors on the list on this site. But, in the meantime, I’m trying to function and deal with the pain. I have been dealing with my burning with ice. I put a bag of ice cubes wrapped in a wet paper towel in my underwear and replace it when it melts. I work at home, making this possible. I also often go to sleep with an ice pack. I’ve been doing this off and on for a few months, but for the past couple of weeks I’ve been doing it literally all the time I’m at home (which is most of the time). My PT told me the constant icing was not a problem, but I’ve now read online that constant icing can be damaging to nerves (anywhere). Has anyone encountered problems with doing this? I just now read the thread about icing, so it sounds like others must be doing this a lot too?

Many thanks,
April
nyt

Re: is constant icing harmful?

Post by nyt »

I also use ice a lot. Whether it is heat or ice if one has decreased sensation one must be very prudent not accidentally keep the ice or heat on too long. Personally, I usually use a timer when I ice at home, on for 20 minutes and then take it off for a 30 minutes. My thoughts, better to be prudent.

Just curious, why ice cubes in a paper towel? Ice packs or even frozen bag of peas (or corn) wrapped in a towel would be less messy. If you need something vaginally there are recipes on this forum for "slushies" that you can be inserted.
2/07 LAVH and TOT 7/07 TOT right side removed 9/07 IL, IH and GN neuropathy 11/07 PN - Dr. Howard