Cymbalta and Lyrica or Neurontin

Discuss different Pain Management Options; Medication options including side effects and Worldwide variances in names etc.
Faith

Cymbalta and Lyrica or Neurontin

Post by Faith »

I have been taking 2400mg of Neurontin for several months now. I have widespread myofascial pain in conjuction to my PN pain. The Neurontin had been controlling my myofascial pain better, but the past month things have gotten out of control again. I started Cymbalta 30mg this weekend, but I had a horrible experience with it. I was so dizzy I couldn't even stand up and I had a horrible headache as well as nausea. I was so cold it felt like I was coming out of my skin (like when you have an initial goosebump reaction) I woke up in the middle of the night with such a bad headache and nausea that I couldn't sleep, but I was so drowsy during the day that I couldn't stay awake. I am a nurse and understand that these side effects can get better with time, but I couldn't care for my 18 month old daughter alone while on this medicine. I think it was just too much CNS depression for me. I am a small person and I feel like that is too much medication in my body.

I guess maybe I could decrease my Neurontin and then try to go back on the Cymbalta, but I was wondering if others who take both Lyrica or Neurontin and Cymbalta had similar experiences. I know everyone can tolerate different meds and different dosages, but just wanted to hear others experiences. I was hopeful that Cymbalta might really get my myofascial pain under better control.
-11/08 vulvodynia began around conception of first & only pregnancy
-3/10 sacral/sitting pain began after SIJD manipulation
-Progressive widespread pain- central sensitization
-PT, meds, injections, botox, ESWT = debilitated.
-5/12 Potter MRI - scarring of left ST, coccygeous & posterior alcock
-12/12 - left FAI/labral hip tear surgery
2014-2019 managed w/ gabapentin, massage, and lifestyle mod
2020 - big flare up