Pudendal neuralgia treatment with Dr Michael Durtnall

Treatment options for UK & Irish members; including VHI & HSE criteria for funding and E112 Applications etc.
irishpudendalnerve

Pudendal neuralgia treatment with Dr Michael Durtnall

Post by irishpudendalnerve »

I began to get symptoms of Pudendal Neuralgia after a 15km cycle in June 2019. These symptoms included pelvic pain , and what can only be described as a horrendous burning penile pain. I also had genital numbness and partial ed. I was initially diagnosed with prostatitis and advised to take time off work(I was a legal intern at the time and was advised not to sit down for too long). I was also placed on 60mg of amitriptyline for three months aswell as taking difene and tramodol as required. I also had two negative cystoscopies. All MRI scans of lumbar spine, pelvis and brain were all clear. I was also referred to various physios which had little impact.

I was eventually referred to a neurophysiologist in September 2020 and was finally diagnosed with Pudendal Neuralgia via a nerve conduction test. I had short term relief from nerve blocks but they stopped working after one year. I was getting 3-4 months partial relief at a time. This particular practictioner then advised me to get a spinal cord stimulator..... I politely declined.
I booked an appointment with Dr Durtnall in January 2022. I was given standing x-rays which showed a leg length discrepancy of 16mm. I had a misaligned pelvis and curved spine as a result.I sat down a lot in college and played a lot of golf in my teens so I was a prime candidate for back trouble.I was given exercises to do and told to wear a heel insert. In simple language clitoral branch of the pudendal nerve is squashed so I am literally trying to lift up my posture and release the pressure.