Severing ligaments -- does it matter?

Read and discuss about the many surgical options and the surgical centres Worldwide.
Violet M

Severing ligaments -- does it matter?

Post by Violet M »

Charlie wrote:.... regarding the ligaments again I am not disputing the reports of people who claim to have been made worse from having their ligaments operated on and I sympathize with them. However what I am still yet to hear is a mechanical explanation of why cutting the ligaments would cause pelvic instability. I say that in a non confrontational manner. I too have had PT's tell me it would cause pelvic instability but when I have enquired further they can never give me a solid, logical, mechanical explanation of why it would do this.
Hey Charlie,

I took your quote from another thread so we could have an intense :lol: discussion about it in a new thread.

I can't give you a mechanical explanation but I studied this subject extensively before I decided on surgery and I came to the conclusion that the sacrotuberous (ST) ligament could be important in pelvic stability. I can't prove it but neither can anyone prove that the ST ligament is not important so I opted to play it safe. I already had SI/stability problems before surgery so maybe I was a little more worried about this than some PNE'ers are.

The problem for PNE patients is you've got some ligaments compressing the nerve and in order to relieve the compression the ligaments may have to be severed. So you may have to go with the lesser of two evils -- or opt for one of the surgery approaches that tries to save or replace the ligament.

Vleeming, Lee, and Tigney seem to be the experts on this subject. Here is a collection of articles/links that may help to explain the biomechanics of the pelvis and why the ST ligament might be important to stability.

http://thelowback.com/how.htm
diagnosticToolsPelvis.doc
(192 KiB) Downloaded 286 times
Eur Spine J. 1993 Oct;2(3):140-4.